phynedyning

Something to drink in Summer?

In Recipies on May 10, 2011 at 3:27 pm

What? No liquor?

In 1988 I sat in the Student Center at Southern Illinois University, eating lunch with our merrie band of exchange students.  One of the first things I observed at university was that the better students tended to be from other countries.

Why?

While my American friends were toasting brain cells on grain alcohol and cough syrup, the foreign students hung out…studying.  Because my education costs were paid from my pocket, I tended to take studying seriously.  I was often the only obvious North American in the Student Center.  In a few weeks, I was noticed by a small group of men and women from one of the labs and I was invited (conditionally) to their study group.

“John”, my Australian friend carried a few cardamom seeds for his version of Earl Grey Tea.  The lunch counter sold the packets of the real stuff for $1 each.  The Ozzies bought the cheap bags for a quarter and added their own cardamom.  “Ephraim”, from Israel, brought in a baggie full of lime slices for his Coca Cola.  Other people took common drinks and added “stuff” to make them “better”.  Ephraim was the first person I had ever seen to eat a whole lemon like it was an apple.

Later, in Israel, I was introduced to lemonade with peppermint.

Oh my!  Talk about refreshing.

In the American South, mint is a staple in iced (or “sweet”) tea.  When my Israeli co-worker brought in a carton of lemon aide with pepper mint, I was suspicious (and mildly nauseated).  He generously offered the carton to me and I took a sip.

I was instantly hooked.

For a brief time, Americans could find “Coke with Lime“.  I have never seen lemon aide with peppermint in any (normal) American grocery.

I did what any Phyne Dyner would do…

…improvised.

Just make a quart or two of your favorite lemon aide mix.  (Remember, we are Phyne Dyners.  We do not require our lemon aide to be made from genuine Sicilian lemons squeezed by Nubian eunuchs…sweetened by pure cane sugar imported on Peruvian hummingbird wings.)  Now, add about 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract per quart.

Even when this stuff is warm, it refreshes like nothing else.

Leave a Reply

