phynedyning

Phyne Dyning rolls out (gasp!) a logo?

In General Information on October 27, 2011 at 10:52 am

"It's so good...you'll get farklempt!"

 

Ya gotta have some fun in life.  What good is having your very own place from which to hold forth as an absolute authority, if you don’t have fun with it?

Debut…the Phyne Dyner logo and tagline.

Yep, it’s cheesy and amateurish-looking…just like the blog.  But I have to admit that I was inspired when I conceived of the idea.

My inspiration?

Two Men and a Truck

The logo for the small, but mighty, moving company always brings a smile to my face.  I have no information on how the logo was developed, but I have my own romantic musings accounting for its origin.

I like to think that the company’s small-time entrepreneur and founder was sitting at his kitchen table pounding out financial statements for his ambitious little company.  As he/she furiously punched the keys on a calculator, a young child competed with the calculator for attention.  In an attempt to puzzle the evening away in peace, the would-be CEO pushed a sheet of paper and a pencil to the kid and said, “Draw Daddy’s/Mommy’s new company.”

The child followed instructions and the result is an instantly recognized logo that always makes me smile.

In part, the smile comes from my Bohemian spirit that says we don’t have to hire a slick marketing agency or graphics design firm when we venture forward.

Now, I don’t know if my scenario is even close to being the true history of the Two Men and a Truck logo.  But it’s the one I’m going with.

Leave a Reply

