phynedyning

Steamed Fish with Leek-Onion Medley

In Recipies on January 14, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Today’s Phyne Dyning recipe offering has a decadent flavor and contains virtually no fat.

My local mass food retailer had just set out a bin of broccoli crowns at $1.19 per pound. I snatched up several pounds for use in my rich and creamy broccoli-cheese soup. Consequently, I looked for some lighter fare to make up for the abundance of fats lurking in my planned soup.

The search was brief. Across the aisle, I spotted a sign.

“Leeks – $2.38 for 3”

Another bargain! Usually, leeks run almost that much for one. I snatched up three beauties. There would be enough to substitute fresh leeks for the onions in my soup, as well as enough for another main course.

As I paid for my veggies, I completed a mental inventory of my freezer. Cod loins were abundant within.

Why not steam some cod loins over a bed of fresh vegetables? I already had celery and green onions. All I needed to do was to pour in a little white wine and add some rustic thyme flavors.

The version below makes a generous portion for four. For a larger group, just scale up the recipe.

Here we go!

4 6-8 ounce cod loins

1 large leek, coarsely chopped

5 large green onions, halved and then chopped

1 stalk celery, small dice

½ C dry white wine

6 6-inch sprigs of fresh thyme

kosher salt

freshly ground black pepper

Pre-heat an oven to 400F. Sprinkle the fish with a bit of salt and pepper on all sides. Carefully clean the mud from the leeks before chopping. Spray a bit of olive oil into a (covered) oven-safe casserole (approx. 1 1/2 qt). Pour all of the vegetables into the bottom of the pan. Strip two of the thyme sprigs of their leaves and stir them into the vegetables. Add the wine and season with salt and pepper. Lay the cod loins on top of the vegetables. Before covering, nestle a sprig of thyme under each fish portion. Cover tightly and bake for 15-20 minutes. Remove from the oven and serve immediately. This goes well with a rustic pilaf and almost any vegetable side dish.

Leave a Reply

